How To Experience the 2010 FIFA World Cup™ in 3D

by Gina 06/11/2010, in Contact the Blog

Today marks the start of one of the most viewed sporting events in the world.    It’s FIFA World Cup™  soccer time.

This year’s FIFA World Cup™  in South Africa is making history. 2010 marks the first FIFA World Cup™  broadcast in 3D and just in time for this monumental event is the release of Sony’s 3D HDTV line. Limited quantities of select 3D ready HX800 sizes are available now at Sony Style stores along with the 46” HX800 available online today at Sony Style (don’t forget your 3D sync transmitter and 3D glasses)  Other Sony 3D HDTV models are available for pre-sale on SonyStyle.com with shipments expected in early July.

To celebrate the event and demonstrate  awesomeness of Sony 3D technology, Sony has set up venues where those not in 2010 FIFA World Cup™ attendance can view trailers (previews) of the 2010 FIFA World Cup™ Official 3D film using Sony’s 3DTV models.  In some cases entire pavilions have been constructed, with the premier location being Nelson Mandela Square in Sandton, Johannesburg. Other Sony 3D Experience Pavilions are located at the International FIFA Fan Fest™ events  in Berlin, Mexico City, Paris, Rio de Janeiro, Rome, and Sydney.

For U.S. soccer fans, you can watch the games in 3D through ESPN3D, who’s broadcasting select games in 3D. If you own a 3DTV, you can contact your local cable to inquire if they carry this channel.  If they do, be sure to ask your provider about your cable box (if your cable box was one of the first invented, I’d recommend getting a newer one since an HDMI connection is needed for your cable box for 3D broadcasts.  To cover all 3D viewing applications, I’d advise getting a high speed HDMI cable. The ESPN 3D broadcast schedule is below.

If you don’t have a 3DTV,  be sure to hop into your local Sony Style store to enjoy the latest and greatest 3D fun. Be sure to check your local store hours.

ESPN3D Channel Broadcast Schedule for the 2010 FIFA World Cup™  – all times ET:

Friday, June 11 at 9:30 a.m.  – South Africa vs. Mexico

Saturday, June 12 at 9:30 a.m. – Argentina vs. Nigeria

Sunday, June 13 at 2:00 p.m.  – Germany vs. Australia

Monday, June 14 at 7:00 a.m. – Brazil vs. North Korea

Wednesday, June 16 at 9:30 a.m.  – Spain vs. Switzerland

Thursday, June 17 at 7:00 a.m. – Argentina vs. South Korea

Friday, June 18 at 9:30 a.m.  – Slovenia vs. United States

Saturday, June 19 at 7:00 a.m. – Netherlands vs. Japan

Sunday, June 20 at 2:00 p.m. – Brazil vs. Ivory Coast

Monday, June 21 at 2:00 p.m.  – Spain vs. Honduras

Tuesday, June 22 at 2:00 p.m. – Nigeria vs. South Korea

Wednesday, June 23 at 2:00 p.m. –  Ghana vs. Germany

Thursday, June 23 at 2:00 p.m.  –  Slovakia vs. Germany

Friday, June 25 at 9:30 a.m. – Portugal vs. Brazil

Sunday, June 27 at 2:00 p.m. – Round of 16 Match

Monday, June 28 at 9:30 a.m. And 2:00 p.m. – Round of 16 Match

Friday, July 2 at 2:00 p.m. – Quarterfinals

Saturday, July 3 at 2:00 p.m. – Quarterfinals

Tuesday, July 6 at 2:00 p.m. – Semifinals

Wednesday, July 7 at 2:00 p.m. – Semifinals

Saturday, July 10 at 2:00 p.m. – 3rd Place Match

Sunday, July 11 at 2:00 p.m.  – Finals

Look if soccer isn’t your thing, I understand but these games aren’t just about the sport. It’s about people from across the globe descending upon a single country ready to cheer on their team in the fullest way possible. Now in 3D, we get a chance to feel a part of it all in an entirely new light. You never know. You might put those glasses on and get bitten by the “football bug” ready to not only watch more but perhaps plan a 2014 trip to Brazil.

Twitter Facebook Email